University of Massachusetts Press

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Juniper Prize for Poetry

In 1975 University of Massachusetts Press established the Juniper Prize for Poetry, an annual award for a selected manuscript of poems to be published by UMass Press. The award is named in honor of the poet Robert Francis (1901-1987), who for many years made his home at Fort Juniper in Amherst. The winning poet now receives a prize of $1,500. All submissions are judged anonymously by a panel of distinguished poets. 

Juniper Prize for Fiction

In 2004, in collaboration with UMass Amherst MFA Program for Poets and Writers, UMass Press established the Juniper Prize for Fiction to honor and publish outstanding works of literary fiction. The prize is judged each year by a distinguished writer of fiction and carries a cash award of $1,500 upon publication.